Festive 50s

Back in the 1990s (it seems so long ago), my siblings and I used to compile our own Festive 50s, inspired by the concept on John Peel’s radio show, in which we’d make a list of our 50 favourite songs of the year. Amazingly, I have actually kept the lists I made, which span the years 1990 to 1998. I guess they provide an interesting insight into changing musical tastes across the decade. By way of an example, here’s my Top 10 from 1990:

1.Perfume – Paris Angels
2. Kinky Afro – Happy Mondays
3. Come Home – James
4. My Rising Star – Northside
5. She Comes in the Fall – Inspiral Carpets
6. Kiss and Make Up – St. Etienne
7. How was it for You – James
8. Dennis and Lois – Happy Mondays
9. There She Goes – The Las
10. All Together Now – The Farm.

Obviously this was from when Madchester was at its height. I still think my choice of no. 1 is a great song.

I may put up more of these lists later.

One response to “Festive 50s”

  1. Mr WordPress says :

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a comment